top of page

Dare To Give Homemade

Today I am linking up over at Maybe Matilda with this weeks theme, which is Dare to Give Homemade.

Now my homemade gifts this year require a bit of an explanation. My grandma has

made all the grandchildren and great grandchildren in her family knitted stockings.

20141210_210739_edited.jpg

Even as an adult my stocking still gets hung every year as do both of my siblings'. Each and every stocking is personalized with the recipients name. Unfortunately my grandmother passed away a few years ago. And much to my surprise she left her yarn and knitting supplies to me.

Since she has been gone one of my younger cousins has had 2 adorable baby girls. When the first one was born, a few years ago, I was asked to make her a stocking. And so I used some of Grandma D's yarn and a pattern I had found that had handwritten notes on it.

This past year that same cousin had her second baby. And again I made her a stocking from Grandma D's yarn. This time she got her own pattern. In the course of talking to my cousin about the stocking I found out that in the course of several moves my cousin's origional stocking had been lost. At that moment I decided I was going to remake the stocking as a surprise.

I have several of my Grandma's notebook where she sketched out different patterns. But none of them were labeled Ashley. SO I settled with using a handwritten pattern that my grandmother had designed.

20141209_090045_edited.jpg
20141209_090027_edited.jpg

So my Dare to Give Homemade are knitted stockings. The one is unavailiable for duplication. The second (with the snowman) can be found here.

Grandma D, thanks for all that you passed on.

Grandma D.jpg

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page