top of page

January Books

So this year I am actually tracking my reading goals on Goodreads. Please feel free to follow me here!

1. Books 1 and 2 of The Selection series by Kiera Cass

This series is delightful junk food for the brain. It's not particularly well written. Nor is it particularly unique. But at times it is definately fun! It made me finally understand the appeal of The Bachelor. Because thats what this series is.

In a dystopian future the world is broken into a caste system. But for 35 girls the selection is a chance to escape their caste. They get to escape into the palace and compete for Prince Maxon's heart. But for America Singer, all she wants is to stay long enough to win her family some money and to forget the boy she left at home...that is until she actually meets the Prince.

2. A Tourist Trap Mystery by Lynn Cahoon #s 1, 2, and 3

Again these are easy reads, but so fun. They reminded me that I really do love murder mysteries.

All Jill wants to do is read and sip coffee in her bookstore. But then her elderly friend,Emily, calls convinced that the city council is out to kil her. When Emily is found dead, Jill becomes obsessed with finding the killer. But the killer knows shes on the trail and will do anything to stop her!

3. The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

I first read this many many years ago in Mrs. Smith's 6th grade English class. It brought back so many memories. And even though it's a childrens book it is still engrossing!

The eccentic Sam Westing has died and in his last "game" has brought together 16 strangers. In order to inherit his enormas wealth they must decide which one of them killed him. Let the games begin!

This book was not what I thought it would be. It was marketed as a "self help" book about meditation. Instead it's a memoir with some interesting theories on meditation and religion thrown in. I will admit, Dan's voice gets annoying and pompus sometimes, but he acknowledges it and stresses that he is working on it.

Dan Harris had a televised panic attack on Good Morning America and it started a chain of him trying to calm his life. This memoir takes us on Dan's journeyd peace.

So for the month of January I read 7 books. I am prety sure I've already surpassed how many books I read last year. ANd Febuary is shapping up to be just as good!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page